Journal Entry, Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Up at six and fired ovens, then went into the museum kitchen to take the pre-ferment out of the refridgerator. Tom arrived shortly after seven and gave me a class on kneading dough. This turned out to be very helpful and has added to my growing confidence in the kitchen. I got the technique down, but am going to have to start working out more if I am going to wrestle dough like this for the rest of the week. I guess I should have thought about that a few weeks ago. After checking on the oven temps, Tom gave me a class on forming a round loaf of bread. For him, it was easy since he has years of experience. I, on the other hand, have very little experience, except for when I worked in a pizza shop in Vermont when I was a teenager. Lucky for me that forming a round loaf of bread is just like preparing pizza dough for making pizza shells. By the end of the day, I had baked fifty-two loaves of bread, all consistently brown and crusty. Mike Cherry came in this afternoon to help keep an eye on the ovens while I was in the kitchen. Later we prepared the pre-ferment for four batches of bread tomorrow, which will be turned into 72 loaves. This evening it rained heavily.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

