Journal Entry, May 4, 2012

May 4, 2012

Knowing that today was going to be a busy day, I awoke and got started at five thirty, undoubtedly still considered sleeping in to most true bakers. After taking the first batch of pre-ferment out of the refridgerator to warm up, I lit the fire in the ovens and then chopped enough thin wood to keep the fires burning hot, but thin enough that they would burn down to ash quickly so I could rake them out fast when the dough was ready.

The day was a blur of mixing, kneading, proofing, forming and baking, but at the end of the day, I had reached my goal of one hundred and eight loaves of bread. I finished at seven in the evening, just before another heavy rain and lightening storm. The two weeks of baking was over, and I have just one more night to spend in my cabin quarters.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

